Photo: GETTY


フロントマンのビリー・ジョー・アームストロングとベーシストのマイク・ダーントはカヴァー・バンドのザ・カヴァーアップスとして40thストリート・ブロック・パーティーに登場し、デヴィッド・ボウイの“All The Young Dudes”、“Suffragette City”、“Rebel Rebel”のほか、ニルヴァーナの“Drain You”、ローリング・ストーンズの“Happy”、“Jumpin’ Jack Flash”などの名曲を計1時間ほど演奏したという。




A Million Miles Away (The Plimsouls cover)
I Wanna Be Sedated (Ramones cover)
I Fought the Law (The Crickets cover)
Where Eagles Dare (Misfits cover – with Kevin Preston)
Born to Lose (The Heartbreakers cover – with Kevin Preston)
Bastards of Young (The Replacements cover)
American Girl (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers cover)
Walking Out on Love (Paul Collins Beat cover)
All the Young Dudes (David Bowie cover)
Should I Stay or Should I Go (The Clash cover)
Sheena Is a Punk Rocker (Ramones cover – with Violet Mayugba)
Drain You (Nirvana cover)
Dancing With Myself (Generation X cover)
Suffragette City (David Bowie cover)
Happy (The Rolling Stones cover)
Surrender (Cheap Trick cover)
Rebel Rebel (David Bowie cover)
Jumpin’ Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones cover)
(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding (Brinsley Schwarz cover)

ビリー・ジョー・アームストロングは昨年12月にグリーン・デイとしての新曲に取り組んでいることを明かしているほか、グリーン・デイは今年10月29日に初となる書籍『ラスト・オブ・ジ・アメリカン・ガールズ』を刊行することも発表されている。本書はビリー・ジョー・アームストロング、マイク・ダーント、トレ・クールが共同で執筆しており、書名は『21世紀のブレイクダウン』に収録の楽曲“Last of the American Girls”に由来している。イラストは漫画家のフランク・カルーソが担当している。


Copyright © 2021 BandLab UK Limited. NME is a registered trademark of BandLab UK Limited being used under licence.